And The Winners of the 2020 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards Are ...

Historians in the News
tags: books, Reconstruction, awards, Eric Foner

You might have more time to read these days. And with the announcement of the new crop of Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards winners, you have more good books to add to your reading list.

The Cleveland Foundation on Monday morning, March 30, unveiled the winners of the 85th annual Anisfield-Wolf awards, the only national juried prize for literature that confronts racism and explores diversity. The 2020 recipients are as follows:

• Fiction: Namwali Serpell, "The Old Drift"

• Nonfiction: Charles King, "Gods of the Upper Air" 

• Poetry: Ilya Kaminsky, "Deaf Republic"

• Lifetime achievement: Eric Foner

Henry Louis Gates Jr., who chairs the Anisfield-Wolf jury, said in a statement that the winners "bring us fresh insights on race and diversity."

Read entire article at Crain's Cleveland Business

comments powered by Disqus