Honoring Excellence, Electing New Members: New Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Historians in the News
tags: honors, awards, American Academy of Arts and Sciencex

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences announces today the election of 252 new members.

The Academy was established in 1780 by the country’s founders to provide guidance to a young nation that would face challenges and need expertise and excellence to emerge stronger. While the founders did not anticipate a year with a historic pandemic, overdue racial reckoning, and political strife, the purpose of electing new members is more compelling than ever.

The 2021 election provides an opportunity to recognize extraordinary people who help solve the world’s most urgent challenges, create meaning through art, and contribute to the common good from every field, discipline, and profession.

“We are honoring the excellence of these individuals, celebrating what they have achieved so far, and imagining what they will continue to accomplish,” said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy. “The past year has been replete with evidence of how things can get worse; this is an opportunity to illuminate the importance of art, ideas, knowledge, and leadership that can make a better world.”

For the complete list of members elected in 2021, click HERE.

Electees in the category of History: 

  • Carol Anderson, Emory University
  • Evelynn M. Hammonds, Harvard University
  • Valerie Hansen, Yale University
  • Patricia Limerick, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Kelly Lytle Hernández, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Andrés Reséndez, University of California, Davis
  • Keith A. Wailoo, Princeton University


Read entire article at American Academy of Arts and Sciences

comments powered by Disqus