• Nine Historians Awarded Dan David Prize

    In 2021 the David Dan Prize adopted an explicit focus on supporting and honoring contributions to historical understanding. Nine scholars have received awards of $300,000 to advance their work. 

  • The AHA Announces 2022 Prize Winners

    Congratulations to this years honorees for publication, teaching, mentoring and service to the profession. 

  • Historians Among 2022 Guggenheim Awardees

    "On April 7, 2022, the Board of Trustees of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation approved the awarding of Guggenheim Fellowships to a diverse group of 180 exceptional individuals."

  • The OAH Announces Annual Prize Winners

    The Organization of American Historians has released its 2022 honorees for scholarship, service, and contributions to history. 

  • AHA Announces 2021 Prize Winners

    HNN congratulates the winners of the AHA's awards for publication, teaching, and service to the profession. 

  • 2020 Frederick Douglass Book Prize Winner

    Notre Dame professor Sophie White's "Voices of the Enslaved: Love, Labor and Longing in French Louisiana" is the winner of the 22nd annual Frederick Douglass Book Prize for the best book on the history of slavery, resistance and abolition. 

  • 2020 Awards, Prizes, And Honors Announced

    As of Wednesday, some important winners have been announced--the AHA's annual prizes for scholarship, teaching, and contributions to the historical profession.

  • UHA Announces Award Winners

    The Urban History Association announces its annual awards for best book, best journal article, and best dissertation.

  • Continuing to Reshape Women’s History: The Ongoing Story of Nontraditional Women Historians

    by Julie Gallagher and Barbara Winslow

    The editors of a collection of essays by non-traditional women historians celebrate the impact of the Catherine Prelinger Award (of the Coordinating Council for Women in History), which aided the scholarship published in their book and is supporting a new generation of women historians expanding the scope of the field to address race, disability, indigeneity, and mass incarceration (among other issues).