• Nine Historians Awarded Dan David Prize

    In 2021 the David Dan Prize adopted an explicit focus on supporting and honoring contributions to historical understanding. Nine scholars have received awards of $300,000 to advance their work. 

  • The AHA Announces 2022 Prize Winners

    Congratulations to this years honorees for publication, teaching, mentoring and service to the profession. 

  • AHA Announces 2021 Prize Winners

    HNN congratulates the winners of the AHA's awards for publication, teaching, and service to the profession. 

  • The 2021 Bancroft Prizes are Announced

    Andy Horowitz and Claudio Saunt are the winners of the 2021 Bancroft Prizes in American History and Diplomacy for their respective books "Katrina: A History, 1915-2015" and "Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native Americans and the Road to Indian Territory."

  • Scholar of World War II Homefront Wins American History Book Prize

    Tracy Campbell, the author of “The Year of Peril: America in 1942,” has been named the winner of the New-York Historical Society’s Barbara and David Zalaznick Book Prize, which is given each year to the best work in the field of American history or biography.

  • Kenneth Pomeranz wins 2021 Toynbee Prize

    Kenneth Pomeranz's work on global economic history has been recognized for driving new understanding of the history of global exchange and sparked global collaboration among historians. 

  • Clemson's Roger Grant receives book award

    CLEMSON — Clemson University history professor Roger Grant is the bronze winner of ForeWord Review’s Book of the Year Award for history. He won the accolade for his book "Railroads and the American People," a social history of the impact of railroads on American life, published in 2012 by Indiana University Press.“How the railroad has affected people has long intrigued me,” said Grant. “This book has allowed me the opportunity to explore that fascinating relationship.”The ForeWord Reviews’ Book of the Year Awards is judged by a select group of librarians and booksellers from around the country. There were 1,300 entries from more than 600 publishers and 248 winners were selected from 62 categories. Grant was the bronze winner in the genre of history....

  • Stephen Kantrowitz, Sydney Nathans, and Brett Rushforth finalists for 2013 Douglass book prize

    The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition announced on Thursday the finalists for the $25,000 Frederick Douglass Book Prize, awarded to books dedicated to African American history.This year's finalists are Stephen Kantrowitz's More Than Freedom: Fighting for Black Citizenship in a White Republic, 1829-1889 (Penguin), Sydney Nathans's To Free a Family: The Journey of Mary Walker (Harvard) , and Brett Rushforth's Bonds of Alliance: Indigenous & Atlantic Slaveries in New France (University of North Carolina).Stephen Kantrowitz is professor of history and director of graduate studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Nathans is professor emeritus of history at Duke, and Brett Rushforth is associate professor of history and director of graduate studies at William & Mary.The winner will be announced in the fall, and the award will be presented in New York City in February.

  • Robert Caro wins $10,000 Mark Lynton History prize

    NEW YORK — Historian and author Robert Caro has won yet another award.Caro’s latest Lyndon Johnson book, “The Passage of Power,” has received the Mark Lynton History prize. Caro, whose many honors during the past 40 years have included the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, will receive $10,000....