India marks independence

India marks 60 years of independence on August 15, celebrating the end of British colonial rule in 1947.

Following is a chronology of major events during the last six decades.

August 15, 1947 - India wins independence from Britain after being divided into two separate nations, India and Pakistan. Jawaharlal Nehru is appointed the first prime minister....

comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to our mailing list