New National Historic Landmarks in 10 states

Breaking News

WASHINGTON -- Three Frank Lloyd Wright structures and nine other sites in 10 states have been designated U.S. National Historic Landmarks. The buildings by the famed American architect are the Beth Sholom Synagogue in Elkins Park, Pa., a glazed glass pyramidal tower built in the 1950s; the Aline Barnsdall Complex (Hollyhock House) in Los Angeles, lauded for emphasizing the relationship between the building and the landscape; and Price Tower in Bartlesville, Okla., a cantilevered 19-story building that today houses an arts center, hotel and restaurant. Wright considered Price Tower to be his only skyscraper.

Related Links

  • National Historic Landmarks homepage

  • comments powered by Disqus