National Trust announces 'Dozen Distinctive Destinations'

Breaking News

WASHINGTON -- The National Trust for Historic Preservation's 2007 list of a"Dozen Distinctive Destinations" ranges from the town where Monticello is located to Hillsborough, N.C., cited in part as the home of a 1949 NASCAR speedway.

The organization recognizes 12 places each year for their dedication to historic preservation and recommends them as vacation destinations.

While New Orleans was not on the list of 12, the National Trust also commended the city for"exemplary achievement in heritage tourism."

[The dozen are Charlottesville, Va.; Chatham, Mass.; Chestertown, Md.; Durango, Colo.; Ellensburg, Wash.; Hillsborough, N.C.; Little Rock, Ark.; Mineral Point, Wis.; Morgantown, W.Va.; Providence, R.I.; West Hollywood, Calif.; and Woodstock, Ill.]

Related Links

  • Dozen Distinctive Destinations, 2007 (NTHP)

  • comments powered by Disqus