W. A. Hayden Schilling: Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor

Historians in the News

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education and The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching today named four university and college professors as national winners of the 2005 U.S. Professors of the Year Award. The professors, who each receive a $5,000 prize, were selected for their outstanding commitment to teaching undergraduate students and their influence on teaching. A state Professor of the Year was also recognized in 40 states, the District of Columbia and Guam.

The Professors of the Year will be honored today at a luncheon at the Grand Hyatt Washington in Washington, D.C. The four national winners will speak at the luncheon after being introduced by a former student.

They include:

Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor: W. A. Hayden Schilling, Robert Critchfield Professor of English History, The College of Wooster, Wooster, Ohio. Throughout his 42-year career at The College of Wooster, Schilling has maintained a passionate devotion to student success, encouraging undergraduates to become active participants in their own education. Schilling is known for his accessibility, careful advising and compassion in dealing with student problems. He has served as a mentor to hundreds of students and has remained an integral part of many of their lives, helping them grow from bewildered freshmen to confident seniors and successful alumni.

comments powered by Disqus