John Hope Franklin: Wins 2007 National Civil Rights Museum Freedom Award

Historians in the News

The National Civil Rights Museum announced the 2007 Freedom Award recipients today, Tuesday, July 24, 2007.

Doctor John Hope Franklin, a former Professor of Legal History at Duke Law School, and Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, the first female President of Liberia.

The Freedom Awards includes a new category this year, the Lifetime Achievement Award. Magic Johnson is the recipient of that award.

Past award recipients include Stevie Wonder, Maxine Smith, Bono, Bill Clinton, and Oprah Winfrey.

comments powered by Disqus