Ten Historians Are Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Historians in the News

At an induction ceremony held on October 8, 2005, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences welcomed its 225th class of fellows, which included 10 historians (of whom seven are AHA members).

The historians who were inducted into the academy are: Omer Bartov, the John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History at Brown University; John Henry Coatsworth, a former AHA president (1995) and the Monroe Gutman Professor of Latin American Affairs and director of the David Rockefeller Center at Harvard University; Victoria De Grazia, professor of history at Columbia University; Sheila Fitzpatrick, the Bernadotte E. Schmitt Distinguished Service Professor of Modern Russian History at the University of Chicago; Raul Hilberg, professor emeritus of political science at the University of Vermont; Alice Kessler-Harris, the R. Gordon Hoxie Professor of American History and department chair at Columbia University; Naomi R. Lamoreaux, professor of economics and history at the University of California at Los Angeles; Harriet N. Ritvo, the Arthur J. Conner Professor of History at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Robert I. Rotberg, president of the World Peace Foundation and director of the Kennedy School of Government’s Program on Intrastate Conflict and Conflict Resolution at Harvard University; and Richard P. Saller, provost and the Edward L. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of History and Classics at the University of Chicago....

comments powered by Disqus