RESOLUTION on PROTECTING THE RIGHT TO EDUCATION in PALESTINE-ISRAEL

Images
tags: Israel, AHA2015



RESOLUTION on PROTECTING THE RIGHT TO EDUCATION in PALESTINE-ISRAEL

WHEREAS members of the historical profession support the principles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, including universal access to higher education; and

WHEREAS Israel violates its obligation to these principles by refusing to allow students from Gaza to travel in order to pursue higher education abroad, and even at West Bank universities; and

WHEREAS members of the historical profession believe that the free exchange of ideas is facilitated by teaching, delivering lectures and participating in conferences; and

WHEREAS Israel arbitrarily denies entry to foreign nationals, including U.S. citizens, who seek to lecture, teach and attend conferences at Palestinian universities, denying both faculty and students the rich experience enjoyed by their peers at other universities worldwide; and

WHEREAS, members of the historical profession are dedicated to the documentation of human experience through the collection and preservation of historical information; and

WHEREAS, the Israeli Defense Forces bombed the Islamic University in Gaza which houses the Oral History Center on August 2, 2014;  

THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED that the AHA condemns the acts of violence and intimidation by the State of Israel against Palestinian researchers and their archival collections, acts which can destroy Palestinians’ sense of historical identity as well as the historical record itself; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the AHA calls for an immediate halt to Israel’s policy of denying entry to foreign nationals seeking to promote educational development in the Occupied Palestinian Territories; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the AHA calls on Israel to provide free access for Palestinian faculty and students alike to pursue their education wherever they choose. 

[Signers]

Silvia Marina Arrom, arrom@brandeis.edu

Jeanie Attie, attie@verizon.net

Cemil Aydin, caydin@email.unc.edu

Aaron Bae, aaron.b.bae@gmail.com

Marc Becker, marc@yachana.org

Ralph Beebe, rbeebe@georgefox.edu

Elizabeth Bishop, elizabeth.bishop.laptop@gmail.com

David P. Bremenstuh, dmbremenstuhl@aol.com

Sandi E Cooper, Sandi.Cooper@csi.cuny.edu

Kenneth Cuno, kennethcuno@sbcglobal.net

Dennis Deslippe, dennis.deslippe@fandm.edu

Natalie Davis, nz.davis@utoronto.ca

Sandra McGee Deutsch, sdeutsch@utep.edu

Geoff Eley, ghe@umich.edu

Jerise Fogel, fogelj@mail.montclair.edu

Carmen Gitre, cgitre@exchange.vt.edu

Stephen S. Gosch, stephengosch9@gmail.com

Van Gosse, van.gosse@fandm.edu

Karen Graubart, kbgraubart@gmail.com

Anthony Gronowicz, abgronowicz@gmail.com

Benjamin Harrison, benjamin.harrison@louisville.edu

Elizabeth Hutchison, ehutch@unm.edu

Benjamin Johnson, bjohnson25@luc.edu

Temma Kaplan, Temma555@aol.com

Rebecca Karl, rebecca.karl@nyu.edu

Osamah Khalil, ofkhalil@gmail.com

Scott Laderman, laderman@d.umn.edu

Jesse Lemisch, jesse.lemisch@verizon.net

Leslie Lomas, leslie.lomas@Colorado.EDU

Henry Maar, hmaar@umail.ucsb.edu

Andrae Marak, amarak@govst.edu

Maria Mitchell, maria.mitchell@fandm.edu

MJ Maynes, mayne001@umn.edu

Teresa Meade, meadet@union.edu

Ruth Mostern, rmostern@ucmerced.edu

Melanie Newton, melanie.newton@utoronto.ca

Prasannan Parthasarathi, prasannan.parthasarathi@bc.edu

Roger Peace, rcpeace3@embarqmail.com

Cody Perkins, csp4fc@virginia.edu

Lewis Perry, perryl@slu.edu

Margaret Power, power@iit.edu

Jean H Quataert, profquat@binghamton.edu

Jacki T. Rand, jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Jacob Remes, jacobremes@gmail.com

Sonya O. Rose, sorose@umich.edu

Adam Sabra, asabra@history.ucsb.edu

Kaya Sahin, iksahin@indiana.edu

Ellen Schrecker, ellen.schrecker@gmail.com

Joan Scott, jws@ias.edu

Martin J. Sherwin, martysherwin@gmail.com

Ted Steinberg, txs18@case.edu

James Swarts, jlswarts@frontiernet.net

Ellie Walsh, ewalsh@govst.edu

Frank A. Warren, Frank.Warren@qc.cuny.edu

Barbara Weinstein, Bswein99@AOL.COM

Robert Whealey, whealey@ohio.edu

Lawrence Wittner, lwittner@albany.edu

James Young, jyoung17102@gmail.com

Marilyn B. Young, marilynbyoung@gmail.com

Liping Zhu,  lzhu@ewu.edu

Andrew Zimmerman, azimmer@email.gwu.edu



comments powered by Disqus