RESOLUTION on ACADEMIC FREEDOM of U.S. CITIZENS VISITING ISRAEL and PALESTINE

Images
tags: Israel, BDS, AHA2015



RESOLUTION on ACADEMIC FREEDOM of U.S. CITIZENS VISITING ISRAEL and PALESTINE

WHEREAS members of the historical profession are committed to the principles of academic freedom, whose curtailment severely compromises education; and

WHEREAS members of the historical profession believe that the free exchange of ideas is facilitated by teaching, delivering lectures and participating in conferences; and

WHEREAS Israel arbitrarily limits the entry of foreign nationals who seek to lecture, teach and attend conferences at Palestinian universities, denying both faculty and students the rich experience enjoyed by their peers at Israeli universities and other universities around the world;

THEREFORE

BE IT RESOLVED that the AHA calls for an immediate halt to Israel’s policy of denying entry to foreign nationals seeking to promote educational development in the Occupied Palestinian Territories; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the AHA demands that the U.S. Department of State honor the academic freedom of U.S. citizens by contesting Israel’s denials of entry of U.S. academics who have been invited to teach, confer, or do research at Palestinian universities.

[Signers]

 

Silvia Marina Arrom, arrom@brandeis.edu

Jeanie Attie, attie@verizon.net

Cemil Aydin, caydin@email.unc.edu

Aaron Bae, aaron.b.bae@gmail.com

Marc Becker, marc@yachana.org

Ralph Beebe, rbeebe@georgefox.edu

Elizabeth Bishop, elizabeth.bishop.laptop@gmail.com

David P. Bremenstuh, dmbremenstuhl@aol.com

Sandi E Cooper, Sandi.Cooper@csi.cuny.edu

Kenneth Cuno, kennethcuno@sbcglobal.net

Dennis Deslippe, dennis.deslippe@fandm.edu

Sandra McGee Deutsch, sdeutsch@utep.edu

Geoff Eley, ghe@umich.edu

Jerise Fogel, fogelj@mail.montclair.edu

Carmen Gitre, cgitre@exchange.vt.edu

Stephen S. Gosch, stephengosch9@gmail.com

Van Gosse, van.gosse@fandm.edu

Karen Graubart, kbgraubart@gmail.com

Anthony Gronowicz, abgronowicz@gmail.com

Benjamin Harrison, benjamin.harrison@louisville.edu

Elizabeth Hutchison, ehutch@unm.edu

Benjamin Johnson, bjohnson25@luc.edu

Temma Kaplan, Temma555@aol.com

Rebecca Karl, rebecca.karl@nyu.edu

Osamah Khalil, ofkhalil@gmail.com

Scott Laderman, laderman@d.umn.edu

Jesse Lemisch, jesse.lemisch@verizon.net

Leslie Lomas, leslie.lomas@Colorado.EDU

Henry Maar, hmaar@umail.ucsb.edu

Andrae Marak, amarak@govst.edu

Maria Mitchell, maria.mitchell@fandm.edu

MJ Maynes, mayne001@umn.edu

Teresa Meade, meadet@union.edu

Ruth Mostern, rmostern@ucmerced.edu

Melanie Newton, melanie.newton@utoronto.ca

Prasannan Parthasarathi, prasannan.parthasarathi@bc.edu

Roger Peace, rcpeace3@embarqmail.com

Cody Perkins, csp4fc@virginia.edu

Lewis Perry, perryl@slu.edu

Margaret Power, power@iit.edu

Jean H Quataert, profquat@binghamton.edu

Jacki T. Rand, jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Jacob Remes, jacobremes@gmail.com

Sonya O. Rose, sorose@umich.edu

Adam Sabra, asabra@history.ucsb.edu

Kaya Sahin, iksahin@indiana.edu

Ellen Schrecker, ellen.schrecker@gmail.com

Joan Scott, jws@ias.edu

Martin J. Sherwin, martysherwin@gmail.com

Ted Steinberg, txs18@case.edu

James Swarts, jlswarts@frontiernet.net

Ellie Walsh, ewalsh@govst.edu

Frank A. Warren, Frank.Warren@qc.cuny.edu

Barbara Weinstein, Bswein99@AOL.COM

Robert Whealey, whealey@ohio.edu

Lawrence Wittner, lwittner@albany.edu

James Young, jyoung17102@gmail.com

Marilyn B. Young, marilynbyoung@gmail.com

Liping Zhu,  lzhu@ewu.edu

Andrew Zimmerman, azimmer@email.gwu.edu

 




comments powered by Disqus