Blogs > Cliopatria > The Cliopatria Awards

Jan 10, 2006 11:42 pm

The Cliopatria Awards

The 2005 Cliopatria Awards were announced by Ralph Luker at the AHA. You can read the Award Post. Below are the winners. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners for making the blogosphere rich, varied and historically-conscious. A heartfelt thanks to all the judges and, especially, to Jeremy Boggs.

Best Individual Blog: Mark Grimsley's Blog Them Out of the Stone Age

"Blog Them Out of the Stone Age is the finest example of the application of a historian's passion and tradecraft in the new medium of blogging. It combines research, analysis and pedagogy issues with a keen desire to engage with the broader public."

Mark Grimsley is Associate Professor of History at Ohio State University

Best Group Blog: K. M. Lawson, Jonathan Dresner, and others, at Frog in a Well

"After much thought, the judges chose the Frog in a Well project as a whole, rather than singling out any one of its constituent parts: not only do they feature overlapping personnel and a considerable degree of shared identity and purpose, all have been characterized by diverse contributors, strong historical content and consistently high quality writing. Both individually and as a whole, they represent a great achievement and a model to inspire and challenge in the future."

K. M. Lawson is a graduate student in history at Harvard; Jonathan Dresner is an Assistant Professor of History at the University of Hawaii, Hilo. They are joined in Frog in a Well/Japan, Frog in a Well/Korea, and Frog in a Well/China by a number of other professors and students of east Asian studies.

Best New Blog:"PK"'s BibliOdyssey

"BibliOdyssey has only been on-line since September of last year, but has already amassed a significant following for the dramatic and thought-provoking historical images and books featured there. This unusually visual blog by"PK" brings together a wide variety of on-line materials and original scans, and will provide teachers and researchers and hobbyists alike with rich graphic and bibliographic sources."

"PK" blogs pseudonymously.

Best Post: Rob MacDougall's"Turk 182" at Old is the New New (9 January 2005)

"Rob MacDougall's ‘Turk 182' brilliantly traversed time and genres to illuminate the abiding fascination with Automata. His use of varied sources, erudition and clear affection for the subject-matter highlights it as the best post of the year."

Rob MacDougall is Assistant Professor of History at the University of Western Ontario.

Best Series of Posts: Nathanael Robinson's"The Geographical Turn," Parts One, Three, at Rhine River.

"The judges thought that, of the nominations, this was the best example of historical scholarship. It was a well-written, thoughtful and accessible essay about an important historiographical movement that may be unfamiliar to many non-specialist readers, while for academic historians it discussed a less familiar aspect of a well-known subject. As such, it represented an excellent example of the uses historians can make of blogs both to explore their ideas and to increase understanding of the past and of the discipline of history."

Nathanael Robinson is a graduate student in Comparative History at Brandeis.

Best Writer: Timothy Burke at Easily Distracted

"Timothy Burke writes strong, clear prose that advances interesting ideas and moves debates in new directions. His energetic and considered writing stands out even in such a competitive category as this one, and reaches out to historians, other academics and non-academics alike with great skill."

Timothy Burke is Associate Professor of History at Swarthmore.

Nomination Post:

Several months ago, our colleague, Sharon Howard, suggested that history blogging had grown so that we ought to have an awards competition for it at the end of the year season for such things in the blogosphere. After some discussion, we found that we didn't have the software for a voting procedure that would preclude stuffing the ballot box, so it would be a judged competition, but that everyone could make nominations in six categories: Best Group Blog, Best Individual Blog, Best New Blog, Best Post, Best Series of Posts, and Best Writing. Winners in each category will be able to display this Awards logo on their blog. We are enormously grateful to Jeremy Boggs of ClioWeb and George Mason University for his design of the logo.

The three committees of judges are:

Best Individual Blog and Best Post
Manan Ahmed, Chairperson
Adam Kotsko
Brian Ulrich

Best New Blog and Best Writing
Jonathan Dresner, Chairperson
Natalie Bennett
Hiram Hover

Best Group Blog and Best Series of Posts
Sharon Howard, Chairperson
Another Damned Medievalist
Timothy Burke

Nominations for the Awards will be open throughout November. You can make nominations here. There you'll find simple guidelines for each award. You may want to use the History Blogroll and/or the History Carnivals to prompt your memory. Judging will take place in December. The winners of the Awards for 2005 will be announced at the Philadelphia convention of the American Historical Association at 9:00 a.m., Saturday 7 January, 2006, and will be posted here at Cliopatria shortly thereafter.

We'd be grateful if you would announce and link to the awards competition on your blog.

comments powered by Disqus

More Comments:

tiffany jewelry - 4/7/2010

ed hardy shoes
online ed hardy shop
Buy cheap ed hardy jeans

Konrad M Lawson - 1/8/2006

This is wonderful news. I got an email from Katrina, who was at AHA but great to hear it officially. I'll be sending out an email to all our contributors about this soon. Thanks to Cliopatria for the links and encouragement over the past year.

My goal for the coming year is to expand our Frog in a Well contributors to make each of the three blogs more bilingual (Chinese and English for the China blog, Korean and English for the Korea blog) so that we might realize the initial goal of creating a place for scholars and students in different academic environments to interact and debate historical research and ideas in our field.