Historians among 2011 ACLS Fellows and Grant Winners

Historians in the News

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) announced its 2011 fellows and grantees today, Tuesday, May 31st. Almost $15 million is being awarded to the 350 scholars, of which there are numerous historians. ACLS fellowships and grants are awarded to individual scholars for excellence in research in the humanities and related social sciences. This year’s projects span a wide range of topics and time periods, from a “Mapping Antislavery geospatial database” project, to a “history of obligation and economic life in the Western Indian Ocean,” to a look at the “impact of electric light on American culture.

Below we note some of the fellows and winners (from history departments), and offer congratulations to all.

ACLS Fellowships 
Jessica M. Chapman (Williams Coll.), Paul Cheney (Univ. of Chicago), Nathan J. Citino (Colorado State Univ.), Ada Ferrer (New York Univ.), Ernest Freeberg (Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville), Ellen Herman (Univ. of Oregon), Kristin L. Hoganson (Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Paul F. Lerner (Univ. of Southern California), Kristin Mann (Emory Univ.), Nancy Y. Reynolds (Washington Univ., St. Louis),Mark E. Ruff (Saint Louis Univ.), Kirsten Schultz (Seton Hall Univ.), Barbara J. Skinner (Indiana State Univ.), Christina Snyder (Indiana Univ., Bloomington), Meredith E. Terretta (Univ. of Ottawa), Lisa Tran (California State Univ., Fullerton), George R. Trumbull IV (Dartmouth Coll.), Deborah M. Valenze (Barnard Coll.), Lynne A. Viola (Univ. of Toronto), Chad Williams (Hamilton Coll.), and Yanna Panayota Yannakakis (Emory Univ.).

Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowships 
Mustafa Aksakal (American Univ.), Michael Gubser (James Madison Univ.),  Anne E. Lester (Univ. of Colorado, Boulder), Guy Ortolano (New York Univ.), Lori Watt (Washington Univ., St. Louis), Carl C. Wennerlind (Barnard Coll.), and Edward N. Wright-Rios (Vanderbilt Univ.).

Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars 
David R. Como (Stanford Univ.), Laura Gotkowitz (Univ. of Iowa), Weijing Lu (Univ. of California, San Diego), and Ethan Pollock (Brown Univ.).

ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships 
Ruth A. Mostern (Univ. of California, Merced) and Kirsten D. Sword (Indiana Univ., Bloomington).

ACLS New Faculty Fellows 
Thomas Adams (Univ. of Chicago), Robert Fredona (Cornell Univ.), Jessie B. Ramey (Carnegie Mellon Univ.), Michael Alan Schoeppner (Univ. of Florida), Aaron Shkuda (Univ. of Chicago), Eren Tasar (Harvard Univ.), Zeb J. Tortorici (Univ. of California, Los Angeles), Shannon Withycombe (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison), and Leandra Ruth Zarnow (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara).

Andrew W. Mellon/ACLS Early Career Fellowship Program Dissertation Completion Fellowships 
Jennifer Ann Adair (New York Univ.), Daniel Asen (Columbia Univ.), Abigail Krasner Balbale (Harvard Univ.), Fahad Ahmad Bishara (Duke Univ.), Shira Niamh Brisman (Yale Univ.), Nathan Riley Carpenter (Univ. of California, Davis), Kevin P. Coleman (Indiana Univ., Bloomington), Helen Anne Curry (Yale Univ.), Alan Shane Dillingham (Univ. of Maryland, College Park), Leanne Good (Univ. of California, Los Angeles), Adam Dylan Hefty (Univ. of California, Santa Cruz), Michael Hunter (Princeton Univ.), Lauren Virginia Jarvis (Stanford Univ.), Melanie A. Kiechle (Rutgers Univ., New Brunswick), Erin Lambert (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison), Samson W. Lim (Cornell Univ.), Austin Prosser Johnson Mason (Boston Coll.), Matthew Benjamin Matteson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Amy C. Offner (Columbia Univ.), Mauro Pasqualini (Emory Univ.), Laurencio O. Sanguino (Univ. of Chicago), Lisa A. Ubelaker (Yale Univ.), Sam C. Vong (Yale Univ.), Andrew C. Warne (Northwestern Univ.), Joshua Michael White (Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor), Kristoffer Whitney (Univ. of Pennsylvania), Amrys O. Williams (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison), Peter Joseph Wirzbicki (New York Univ.), Colleen P. Woods (Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor), and Ran Zwigenberg (City Univ. of New York, Graduate Center).

Comparative Perspectives on Chinese Culture and Society
Tonio Andrade (Emory Univ.), Joan E. Judge (York Univ.), Rebecca Nedostup (Boston Coll.), and Miranda Brown (Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor).

East European Studies Programs
Winson W. Chu (Univ. of Wisconsin, Milwaukee), Travis C. Currit (Univ. of Washington), Steven B. Davis (Texas A & M Univ.), Magdalena Gross (Stanford Univ.), Jessica Lee Herzog (Rutgers Univ., New Brunswick), William deJong-Lambert (City Univ. of New York, Bronx Community Coll.), Andrew Kornbluth (Univ. of California, Berkeley), Jared Manasek (Columbia Univ.), Jacob Bruno Mikanowski (Univ. of California, Berkeley), Mary C. Neuburger (Univ.of Texas, Austin), Alison J. Orton (Univ. of Illinois, Chicago), John Luke Ryder (McGill Univ.), and Erika Cornelius Smith (Purdue Univ.).

comments powered by Disqus